I. Searching the Online Catalog
II. Requesting
Books from Other Libraries
I.
Searching the Online Catalog
This guide will help
you
search the Drexel University Libraries catalog for print and
electronic
books, audiovisuals, and print and electronic journals at Hagerty
Library and at the two Health Sciences Libraries.
Searching
Specific Locations
By default, a catalog
search
encompasses the collections of all the Drexel University
Libraries.
To search only one of the Libraries, use the pull-down box on the
quick-search page or from one of the Search Options, to
select:
- Hagerty
Library
- Health Sciences
Libraries
- All Electronic
Resources
- Hagerty
Archives
-
Journals
- Hagerty
VHS/DVDs/Films
See below for
information
about searching Electronic
Resources.
To search for a more
specific
location within Hagerty Library or to search the collection of one
of the Health Sciences Libraries, there are two
options:
Limit
Search:
from the list of results for an Author, Title, or Subject
Search,
click on the Limit/Sort button at the top of
the
page. Use the pull-down box next to "Where item is
located"
to limit your search results.
Limit/Sort
also offers options for limiting search results to specific
types
of materials, languages, and dates. Note that the Limit/Sort
option
is not available for the results of a Keyword or Advanced
Keyword
search.
Advanced
Keyword
Search: Advanced Keyword searching allows the option of
pre-limiting a search by locations, as well as by date, material
type, etc.
Author,
Title, Subject, and Keyword
Use the Quick Search
page,
or select one of the Search Options to search by Author, Title,
Subject
or Keyword. The Search Options screens will give examples of how
to
enter your search terms.
Subject
Search:
In general, use Library of Congress (LC) Subject
Headings
to search for non-biomedical topics; use Medical Subject
Headings
(MeSH) to search for biomedical topics. Note that some older
materials
on biomedical topics in the Hagerty Library collections may be
indexed
only with Library of Congress headings, and that some older
materials
on non-biomedical topics in the Health Sciences Libraries
collections
may be indexed only with MeSH terms. It may be necessary to
use both types of subject headings for a comprehensive search in
some subject areas.
If you enter a term
that
is not actually a subject heading, usually the results screen
will
refer you to the recommended term. If you still can not identify
a good subject heading for your topic, try a
Keyword
or Advanced Keyword search.
Keyword
Search:
This is a good place to start if you are not sure of an
appropriate
subject heading for your topic, or if you know some of the words
in the title of a book but not the exact title. Examples on the
Keyword Search Options page offer instructions for using Boolean
searching (AND, OR), truncation and other options.
A Keyword Search can
lead you to subject headings that might be appropriate for your
topic; choose one or two titles from the results that are
relevant
to your topic, and look at the Subject listed beneath the
Location
information. Click on one of the headings listed in the record
to
do a Subject Heading search.
Because the
Limit/Sort
function is not available for the results of a Keyword Search,
use
Advanced Keyword Search to pre-set limits by
location,
material type, etc.
Advanced
Keyword Search
The Advanced Keyword
Search
option offers all of the possibilities of Keyword searching,
including
Boolean searching (with or without specifying fields), truncation
and proximity, combined with options for limiting a search by
location,
material type, dates, etc. and for choosing to sort the search
results
by date, alphabetically or by relevance.
Search
for Electronic Books
To find
Electronic Books available through the Drexel University Libraries
search by author, title, subject or keyword from the Quick Search
page or from one of the Search Options, and restrict your results
to E-books by selecting Electronic Resources from the pull-down
list.
Use the E-book Collections link to search for
individual
titles in some of the large collections (i.e., NetLibrary) that
may
not be included in the catalog.
Searching
for Journals
Because electronic
journals
are not currently included in the catalog, this Search Option
diverts
to a special utility created to search both the print and
electronic
journal collections simultaneously. After selecting Journal Title
from the search options, then select theTitle
option
to search starting with the beginning word of a journal title,
Title
Keyword to search for a word that may be in the middle of
a title, or ISSN - do not forget that print and
electronic
versions of a journal may have different ISSN's.
From the results, click
on the SFX button to access the electronic
version
of a title. Click on View Print Journal Record to
see more information from the Catalog about a journal title owned
in print.
Searching
for Audiovisual Materials
To identify audiovisual
materials search by Author, Title or Subject, then click on
Limit/Sort.
In the "Material type" pull-down box, choose
"SLIDE/FILM/VID",
"MUSIC SOUND", "NONMUSIC SOUND" or other AV
material
type. These materials types can also be specified when using the
Advanced
Keyword search option.
Another way to find
audiovisual
materials is to select the Browse AV Lists link
in
the SERVICES box for lists of DVDs, VHS
videocassettes
and Film -- these lists currently include only items at Hagerty
Library.
Displaying
Results
When you have a list of
your search results on the screen:
- Use the pull-down
box
headed System Sorted to sort the list by
Author,
Title, Year (older material first) or Reverse Year (recent
material
first). This option will not appear for the results of a Keyword
or Advanced Keyword Search; use the Sort function on the
Advanced
Keyword Search form instead.
- Click on the desired
entry to view the full record of information on the
title.
- The HOLDINGS
information
will give you the CALL NUMBER of the title and the LOCATION in
the
Library.
- Location prefixes
are:
- Hagerty -
Hagerty
Library or Archives
- HL - Hahnemann
Library
- QL - Queen Lane
Library
- Click on
Extended
Display to see more information (call number, location,
availability) about items in a list.
Printing
Results
Use the Web Browser's
PRINT
button to print your information. If you are printing at the
Library,
there may be a fee for the paper you use. Please ask at the
Reference
Desk about printing fees. Mark/Save Records to gather
records
into a list for more efficient printing, or to email or download
records.
Saving
Records (Marking and Exporting)
When you want to print,
save or email a list of records from the Catalog, instead of
printing
them individually, use the Save/Export function.
To save records from a
browsing list (for example the resulting list from an Author
search):
- Click on the box in
the column labeled Mark.
- When you have
marked
all the records you want from that page, click on the
Save
Marked Records button at the top or bottom of the page
(do this before you go on to the next page of the list).
- If you continue
searching
and mark additional records, those records will be added to your
saved list.
When you are viewing an
individual title record, save it by clicking on Save
Records
at the top of the screen.
When you have finished
selecting records to save, click on the Export Saved
Records
button. The next screen will display all the records you have
marked.
You can then choose to email the records, display them on the
screen
(use this option to print your list) or save them on a local drive
or disk.